Lentil Soup

I often make big batches of this soup (which I lovingly refer to as my “Lentil Mash”) and freeze it in portion sized containers, for those days where I am too busy, too tired, or too lazy to cook. It is hearty, healthy, and satisfying. I will usually use whatever vegetables I have on hand, fresh or in the freezer, and go with whatever spices I am feeling at the time. As with most everything else I cook, I like to season these lentils with reckless abandon, and it usually varies depending on what sounds good to me at the time (though it typically has a decidedly Indian slant to it). Here I used curry powder, garam masala, cumin, mustard, and fennel seeds, red pepper flakes, and a palm full of pimentón( just for fun), to spice up a mixture of homemade chicken stock, lentils, broccoli, cauliflower, okra, zucchini, tomatoes, celery, onions, garlic, and spinach.

Leave a comment

Filed under Other, Vegetables

Leave a Reply

