Zucchini Pancakes with Horseradish Cream

These last several weeks I have been absolutely inundated with farm fresh zucchini in our weekly CSA bins. Mountains of them! I have been grilling them, stuffing them, roasting them with Parmesan cheese, making them into a roasted vegetable tian, and anything else I can possibly think of to use them up in some form of non redundant fashion. In searching for recipes, I stumbled across Ina Garten’s zucchini pancakes recipe, and thought, yes! That’s it! And while her recipe is, I’m sure, positively delectable, I decided to sort of come up with my own take on them, based on what other ingredients I had from the CSA. I started by grating about a pound of both green and yellow zucchini in my food processor fitted with the grating disc. I then placed the shredded zucchini in a colander and sprinkled it with about a tablespoon of salt, and allowed it to sit for about twenty minutes. I then rinsed the zucchini in cold water, and squeezed out as much liquid from them as I could, using my hands. In a large mixing bowl I then combined the drained zucchini, about a cup or so of chopped green onions, a handful each of chopped fresh basil and Italian flat leaf parsley, two large garlic cloves (grated on my microplane zester), four large eggs, a little salt, a healthy grind of black pepper, a dash of chipotle powder, and enough flour to pull it all together (about a half a cup or so). I then heated some extra virgin olive oil in a large skillet, and,while it was heating, mixed together a half a cup of sour cream, a half a teaspoon or so of prepared horseradish (or more depending on the strength of your particular brand), and a dash of salt and freshly ground black pepper. I placed heaping spoonfuls of the zucchini mixture into the hot pan, and cooked them for about two minutes per side, or until nicely golden brown (placing them onto a sheet pan in a 250º oven in between batches to keep them warm). I serve them up with a dollop of the horseradish cream, a sprig of fresh parsley, and a few lemon wedges for squeezing over them. The pancakes are crisp on the outside and moist on the inside. The delicious, savory flavor of the garlic and herbs hit you in waves, with a gentle little nudge from the chipotle powder. The creaminess of the sour cream, and the subtle kick from the horseradish perfectly compliment the pancakes, without overwhelming them.  These are perfect as an appetizer, first course, or lite lunch (and I imagine that they are a great way to get vegetables into your kids).  Now if only I can come up with a use for the REST of Mount St. Zucchini I will be in good shape. Enjoy!

This post made the Foodbuzz.com Top 9!!!

signature 3

32 Comments

Filed under Foodbuzz Top 9, Side Dishes, Snacks, Vegetables

32 responses to “Zucchini Pancakes with Horseradish Cream

  1. Mount Zucchini – love it! Those look tremendous. You might try zucchini involtini to use some of it up… Kate@kateiscooking

  2. Make pickles with it? I’m not the best person to ask because I pretty much just shred it for zucchini-date muffins. Usually I freeze it, but this year I tried dehydrating a bunch, and am very curious to see how the muffins will end up. 🙂

  3. These would make wonderful little appetizers, especially with the horseradish cream!

  4. gigabiting

    I’ll pretty much eat anything topped with sour cream and horseradish.

  5. These look wonderful…and I love that cream 🙂

  6. I love all of the great zucchini recipes this time of year when everyone is trying to use up their garden zucchini. My personal favorite is zucchini bread but these pancakes (and the horseradish cream) looks great!

    • Hi Michelle,

      Zucchini bread is next on the list! Such a classic flavor. My grandmother definitely made a lot of it growing up. It is a delicious way to use up all of those summer zucchini for sure.

      Thanks for dropping by ! =)

  7. There’s a traditional Turkish dish that’s very similar to this that we make a lot and we serve it with natural yoghurt. This is a great variation that we can now try.

    • Hi Julia and Barry!

      Great point. Actually, I think Greek yogurt would make a great substitute for this dish. Rich and thick and tangy, without all of the fat. These pancakes were a nice surprise when I first made them. Now they are one of my favorite summertime appetizers.

      Thanks for dropping by! =)

  8. Hi Jacob,

    Another great recipe from you…and amazing photography…

    Dr.Sameena@

    http://www.myeasytocookrecipes.blogspot.com

  9. Why is it that so many things in pancake or patty form are just SO good? I love the use of Horseradish cream on these. So scrumptious 🙂

  10. I’d love to hear some specifics on your other zucchini mentioned here as well seeing as how I share in your same produce deliveries!

  11. wonderful looking pancakes, really bet it went well with the horseradish cream.

  12. I love your photography. I want to eat your pictures.

  13. Ms Jo Little

    Hiya Jacob,
    I will definitely try this one myself so a swap is fair, I guess. Have you ever tried an Australian staple called, [rather originally] “Zucchini Slice?” It has some similar ingredients but comes out quite differently and considering your choice of spices and the accompanying cream, I would love to see what you would do with it as it’s quite plain, however yummy and makes for a great light meal with salad, goes into lunch boxes the next day here and I’m sure, a million other ways Australians have found over the decades to use it… You can find it on the www quite easily, or drop me an email and I’ll send mine, which was passed to me from a grandmother.
    Best of luck with them all, I have often bought a box of ‘something’ with the best of intentions like making tomato sauce that would last for a year and that, but I always let some go bad on me.
    Jo.
    Sunshine Coast.
    Australia.

  14. A delicious idea, these zucchini pancakes! They look perfectly caramelized and beatifully presented. 😉

  15. These look sooo good! I have never had zucchini pancakes, but if they are anything like potato pancakes I am excited! Thanks

    • Hi Debbie!

      They are kind of like potato pancakes. Potato pancakes are often a little bit more hash brownie, and these don’t have that same starchy crispness, and are instead slightly moister and more cakey. But I have also seen some recipes that include a shredded potato. Seems like how can a potato make anything taste bad?

      Thanks for dropping by! =)

  16. Another gorgeous photo! Congrats on the top 9 too!
    I love finding different ways to use zucchini. I always have to be fairly sneaky as my husband really doesn’t care for it. This might work, even though it is fairly obvious what it is, but it is something so different. Thanks!

  17. Those zucchini pancakes look divine. I’ll be trying them sometime this week… cheers!

  18. I’m definitely making those today!
    Great recipe, 10x for it 🙂

    You will have to share some secrets about food picture making… I can’t make such photos no matter what…

  19. Congrats on the Top 9! You slay us 🙂 I’ve made zucchini pancakes before – each summer when I’m trying to think of 101 ways to prepare zucchini because they just keep coming! But yours are stunning – as always.

  20. I love this recipe and the horseradish cream! What a nice touch!

    • buckeye

      I tried the recipe Sunday night to serve with fresh sweetcorn chowder. The summer feedbag was on! They were wonderful and the sauce is too good to be so simple!

      • I’m so glad they worked out so well for you! Sweet corn chowder sounds delicious. I wouldn’t mind a big bowl of it right now! Great pairing.

        Thanks for stopping by! =)

  21. frootie-maureen

    try chargrilling thinly sliced marrows; it doesnt matter if they are long ones or round patty shaped ones. Cool, then bottle. I like to char red/green peppers, mushrooms and whatever else I fancy. Add garlic, chilli, lemon zest, olives, feta and whatever herbs you like to a bottle, pack in your char-grilled marrows etc then fill with XVOOil.
    Even if just for a few hours (well they don’t last any longer in my house), you can turn them out for antipasti, serve with grilled ciabatta and cheese or twirl them into hot pasta. Absolutely Awesome way to use up surplus veggies 🙂

  22. Suze

    These were awesome, by the way. Even got the delighted approval of the sceptical husband. Served them with yoghurt, mixed with Dijon mustard, for that horseradishey kick. Will make again! Thanks.

  23. Darlene

    Jacob! We had this for dinner this evening and it was so awesome! My family told me it is a keeper. It was very easy to make. Thank you so much!

Leave a comment