Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Is it me, or is there is something magical about lemon poppy seed muffins? There is something about that fresh citrus tartness, mixed with the sweet cakey muffin, the distinct poppy seed flavor, and ever so slight crunch as the seeds burst in your mouth. It’s a good time. When making the muffins, I like to add lots of fresh lemon zest and lemon juice to the batter, and when they are hot out of  the oven I spoon over a simple syrup made from freshly squeezed lemon juice and sugar, to add that extra lemon flavor. Like making pound cake, the syrup sort of traps in the moisture and freshness, and makes them last a little longer than most other muffins (when stored properly). These are perfect in the morning with coffee, or in the afternoon with tea. They are simple, fresh, and delicious. Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch

4 responses to “Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

  1. Poppy seeds! I remember when my mom first put them in something! As a kid I was horrfied. I don’t know why. GREG

  2. One of my favorite muffins, or cakes, I’ve long loved the poppyseed.

  3. A great muffin they are…These are just perfect!

  4. Oh yum. I made some poppy seed muffins recently that reminded me how much I enjoy them!

Leave a comment