Summer Fruit Clafoutis

Clafoutis are the perfect, simple, rustic summertime dessert, but are also great for breakfast. They can be made with a variety of fruits (cherries, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, apricots, peaches, apples, pears, plums, or even a mixture of fruits…though you may want to vary the amount of sugar you use based on how sweet your fruit is). I, for example, (still!) had some leftover apricots  from yesterday’s tarts, so in addition to making the classic cherry clafoutis, I went ahead and made some with apricots as well. I start by buttering six shallow ramekins, and then sprinkle the inside of each with granulated sugar. Then in a blender I combine 1 ¼ cups half ‘n half, 2/3 cup all purpose flour, 3 large eggs, 1/3 cup granulated sugar (add more or less to taste depending on the sweetness of your fruit), 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract, the zest of one lemon, about a teaspoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice, 1/3 of a cup or so of toasted sliced almonds, a teaspoon of baking powder, and a pinch of salt. I arrange a handful of  fruit (in this case pitted cherries and sliced apricots) to each ramekin and cover with the batter (depending on how deep your ramekins are, or if you prefer baking one large clafouti, you may want to pour about 1/4 of a inch of batter into each ramekin and bake for 5 minutes or so, until just set, then add your fruit, to prevent them all from just sinking to the bottom.) Bake for 35-40 minutes in a 350º oven, until they are puffed and golden brown around the edges. These are really best served warm, or hot out of the oven. They are light, sweet, and custardy. The perfect end (or beginning) to any summer day. Enjoy!

signature 3

16 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Desserts

16 responses to “Summer Fruit Clafoutis

  1. These are stunning! Great idea as a breakfast:)

  2. I have always wanted to make these. Thanks for sharing. I am gong to have to step to it so that I can use all those great summer fruits.
    Lovely 🙂

  3. BEAUTIFUL photography! Those should get you on Tastespotting and Foodgawker 🙂

    • jacobskitchen

      Thanks! I just recently discovered both of those sites, and have had numerous items posted on each =) . What a great way to consume all of the beautiful food photography out there on the web. It’s genius!

      Thanks for visiting!

  4. Fantastic post! These pictures are stunning… wouldn’t mind having one of those for breakfast tomorrow!

  5. You must be reading my mind! I’ve been wanting to make this for such a long time. They are just beautiful! You always have such great recipes and fabulous pictures!

  6. Joy

    That looks wonderful. I have yet to make a clafoutis. I may try real soon.

  7. Your photos are as beautiful as your subjects – did you buy the macro lens? Just returned from vacation and I’ll have to go to the farmer’s market so I can whip up a clafouti!

    • jacobskitchen

      Thanks Priscilla!

      No, I am still using my little, unsophisticated point and shoot camera. But I think as time goes on, I am learning more and more about how to utilize all of the settings that it does have.

      Thanks for visiting! =)

  8. These look delicious. Clafoutis for breakfast! 🙂 Not a bad idea. I am planning to make clafoutis for friends on Sunday, I think I’ll use your recipe. Thank you.

  9. Beautiful clafoutis. I love berries for breakfast!

  10. Looks delicious. Love your photos. My mother-in-law gave me her Clafoutis recipe – plan on making it soon. We’ll see if it turns out as beautiful as yours. Cheers!

  11. Ooh, yum – I do love a clafoutis, and these look delicious. My favourites are with prunes, or cherries. Your photography is lovely, by the way – wish I could take pictures like yours!

    x Amy

  12. Hello, I haven’t had any chance to say thank you for being an online friend on Foodbuzz. Thank you 🙂

    What a talented cook you are. This look superb!

Leave a comment