Candied Orange Peel

Growing up, my grandmother Iris always made candied citrus peels. Never one to waste anything, it was her way of using up every last bit of her fruit. As a child I found her candied peels a little too bitter for my palate, and so I had never thought of making my own. I happened to run across some in one of my favorite stores the other day and was inspired to revisit the idea. I began by scrubbing six navel oranges, slicing the tops and bottoms off, scoring along the peel several times, and carefully removing the rind and pith. I then sliced the peels into quarter inch strips and put them in a sauce pan and covered them with cold water. I brought that mixture to a boil, then drained and rinsed them, and repeated this process once more. (This blanching removes the bitterness from the peels and makes for a nice finished texture. If you like things more bitter blanch them only once, and conversely if you despise bitter flavor all together blanch them a third time.) After the last blanching, I drained the peels and set them aside. In the sauce pan I whisked together six cups of sugar and two cups of water, and brought that to a boil and simmered the syrup for about ten minutes. I then added the peels to the sugar syrup and gently simmered them for about one hour, or until the edges were translucent. I drained them (reserving the syrup for use in orange iced tea and flavored cocktails) and took half of the peels and individually rolled each in granulated sugar and set them on a piece of parchment paper. The other half I laid out on a wire cooling rack set over a sheet pan. Allow them both to dry over night. This morning, I melted good quality dark chocolate in a bowl set over a pan of simmering water, until it was nice and smooth. I then dipped each of the non sugar rolled strips of peel into the chocolate, and lined them up on a sheet of parchment paper to dry. And there you have it. They are sweet and ever so slightly sour, with a little edge of delicious orangey bitterness. The chocolate and orange pair together beautifully and make for a decadent little treat. (In fact, I can imagine that they would also make the perfect garnish for the top of an orange chocolate cake!) Wrapped up in a little cellophane bag, tied up with raffia, I can’t imagine a better hostess gift, or little holiday treat. Enjoy!

signature 3

31 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Other, Snacks

31 responses to “Candied Orange Peel

  1. That’s so pretty! They look awesome!

  2. Wow! I am so impressed with both the sugared and the chocolate dipped yummies. What a good idea!

  3. The orange peels look so colorful and tempting! What a delightful treat!

  4. These look mouth watering. This is a great way to be frugal and use everything that’s available!

  5. gail

    i love your food photos! i feel like running right upstairs to make candied orange peel now 🙂

  6. Have I told you how much I love your photos???
    those look amazing, can’t wait till I make them,,I think my kids will love them .

  7. those look amazing! i wish i had a bag full of them right now!

  8. These look so good! Your photos are fantastic and I can’t wait to try making these myself.

  9. This looks so pretty! I think it would be great as a holiday gift!

  10. Orange and dark chocolate make a wonderful combo. Your pics are so inviting.

  11. Oooh yummy! I specially love the chocolate dipped ones. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Love the idea and it looks beautiful too! My grandmother is like that as well- she never wastes anything. Can you do this with any citrus and is this how you man candied ginger?

  13. favorite recipes

    great post, looking forward to your next, if your on twitter follow me @favoriterecipe , i follow everyone back

  14. How cool! I saw candied lemon peel recently and I was totally intrigued. Now that I see your orange version, I’m even more intrigued because of the brighter colors. I’m definitely trying this soon 🙂

  15. You know what, these look so nice. I’m a huge fan of sour sugared gummy sweets (candy), and these look JUST like them, lol.
    I love the look of them to snack on and i really like the idea of the chocolate, yum yum!
    🙂

  16. I made these and just finished eating some of them. They are SO GOOD! I love the sweet with the hint of bitterness to them. I only blanched them twice and they tasted great!

    • Hi Celeste!

      I’m so glad it worked out well for you. And I am glad to hear that the two blanchings was the perfect amount. I thought it would be. After the third blanch, they are perfectly delicious, but have absolutely no bitter flavor. And I kind of like a little bit of bitter in there somewhere. I mean, it IS orange peel after all. Thanks for letting me know how it turned out! Happy eating! =)

  17. This is a great article! I’ve been searching for different ways to make candied orange peel. It was interesting to hear that blanched 3x was almost too much. I had read a few different articles about it and I had pretty much only heard of people blanching 3x. I definitely want to try your recipe though. Your pictures are beautiful too!

    • Hi BFB,

      I have tried the recipe since blanching only twice and the flavor was perfect. Sweet but with just a slight edge of that delicious bitter flavor that candied orange should have. I would certainly recommend doing it that way.

      Thanks for stopping by! =)

  18. I needed to make some candied orange peel and found your blog. Your orange peel looks absolutely divine. Now I’m going to get my oranges. 🙂

  19. I had a go at candied orange peel.

    I had no idea you had to blanch them first ! Mine were vile and all went in the bin. MAybe I’ll have another go….. Lovely photos btw

  20. Elaine smith

    Am making my second batch today as the ones I made last week were a huge success. Absolutely delicious….do try them. They really are worth the effort. Thank you.

  21. Elaine smith

    I made these and they are fab.

  22. Elaine smith

    Brilliant

Leave a comment